silver88

Home And Design At Expo

Anyone went there liao ??

Me going there on Sunday to meet Baroque representative....

Any one know got any other ID exhibit there??

Anyone went there liao ??

Me going there on Sunday to meet Baroque representative....

Any one know got any other ID exhibit there??

Got many:

City Design, Ciseern, Baroque, *****, ReztNRelax, Unimax, etc, etc

juz went down to the expo 2day. made quite a few contacts with some IDs..

initial contact feeling still quite good after toking to some of the IDs..dunno

after u engage them attitude will change ornot.

i tink i narrow down my search to this 3..

plus-interior

image-creative

city-design

some of the miscellanous items also not bad..i especially like the landscaping one from fuki..

they put dwn lowest price guarantee..dunno real or not. mayb if someone have good

landscaping co. can intro me..i need to do up some water features too..:)

juz went down to the expo 2day. made quite a few contacts with some IDs..

initial contact feeling still quite good after toking to some of the IDs..dunno

after u engage them attitude will change ornot.

i tink i narrow down my search to this 3..

plus-interior

image-creative

city-design

some of the miscellanous items also not bad..i especially like the landscaping one from fuki..

they put dwn lowest price guarantee..dunno real or not. mayb if someone have good

landscaping co. can intro me..i need to do up some water features too..:good:

i am not generalising, but my comments about engaging ID firms who are usu high profile at 'home and decor' fairs are as follows

1) if they are that good why do they need to keep appearing at fairs? if you notice, most of the highly recommended firms in this forum almost never advertise at fairs (e.g. Intradesign, Earnest, Ideal House) cos they spend their time in their offices actually thinking of designs for their clients...

2) the person who sweet-talks you into signing up for their promotional package at the fair is usually a salesperson not an ID. so after you sign on the dotted line, they'll hand u over to someone else whom you have never spoken to before. i don't think that's very reassuring.

3) their packaged may be very competitive but just think, who pays for their very nicely decorated showflats, advertisements, salespeople? their customers! they just give a 'good price' at the fair, but if you are not careful they can easily make you part with more $...

i feel that one is better off going to the ID firms who are lower profile but recommended (at forums, by friends)

my 2 cents worth. if you are interested you can read my thread on city design...

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=10214

actually, my 1st direction of sourcing for my ID is looking at casetrusted n RADAC accredited firms.

onli if the company have both in their credentials then i will consider them. So initially i started off from there..but im kinda worried that to be casetrust member n RAdac, u onli need to pay a certain fee or something..

one thing i spotted is also that those boutique Id or seemingly high class firms tat got their projects highlighted in H&D magazine n SquareRoom magazines dun even have both casetrust n Radac in their credentials leh..ong-&ong architects, haier living, formwerkz architects..etc..

their design really !! :(

realli a headache to choose IDs..

i am not generalising, but my comments about engaging ID firms who are usu high profile at 'home and decor' fairs are as follows

1) if they are that good why do they need to keep appearing at fairs? if you notice, most of the highly recommended firms in this forum almost never advertise at fairs (e.g. Intradesign, Earnest, Ideal House) cos they spend their time in their offices actually thinking of designs for their clients...

2) the person who sweet-talks you into signing up for their promotional package at the fair is usually a salesperson not an ID. so after you sign on the dotted line, they'll hand u over to someone else whom you have never spoken to before. i don't think that's very reassuring.

3) their packaged may be very competitive but just think, who pays for their very nicely decorated showflats, advertisements, salespeople? their customers! they just give a 'good price' at the fair, but if you are not careful they can easily make you part with more $...

i feel that one is better off going to the ID firms who are lower profile but recommended (at forums, by friends)

my 2 cents worth. if you are interested you can read my thread on city design...

I signed mine during expo fair, after reading, i got abit worried liao.. :)

I signed mine during expo fair, after reading, i got abit worried liao.. !!

If u signed liao then don get worried over it, although purpledino is right but certain reno firm still have to uphold their reputation no point spending so much money on the expo and damage it reputation the next day not any wise boss shld do.

Jus bear in mind all the items u wan must be stated black & white in the contract and any additional or hidden cost must also state in it to prevent future confusion.

On top also highlight the dateline or schedule to be complete to prevent any delay too.

Lastly alway hold back at least 15% of the whole contract even after they hand over the key to u. :P

Good Luck to ur reno. :)

actually, my 1st direction of sourcing for my ID is looking at casetrusted n RADAC accredited firms.

onli if the company have both in their credentials then i will consider them. So initially i started off from there..but im kinda worried that to be casetrust member n RAdac, u onli need to pay a certain fee or something..

one thing i spotted is also that those boutique Id or seemingly high class firms tat got their projects highlighted in H&D magazine n SquareRoom magazines dun even have both casetrust n Radac in their credentials leh..ong-&ong architects, haier living, formwerkz architects..etc..

their design really :good::good:

realli a headache to choose IDs..

Something to highlight those pics u see in the mag sometime nt all belong to the owner and the pics can be veri nice if they get professional photographer to do the job so go and request to look at their actual unit then u can tell the diff from the pics and also their workmanship. :)

I totally agreed and i do share the same sentiment with U ...! :notti:

I went once, talk to 3 id firms, meet them at their office....in the end after comparing apple to apple....materials to materials...cost to cos.....I rejected their offer.

I too got carried away by the promotional pricing of an ID firm and sign up for the kitchen on sunday. :D

They gave granite top at 90 $ pfr. Now got people tell me that only India granite then worth so much,

China granite is bet 40 to 70 $.

I know they give me China granite ..coz they dont let me choose the black galaxy n pearl ,,,all in top row.

Only below rows can choose he said.

How to find out what is the actual cost and type/quality of granite he sold us? :D

I too got carried away by the promotional pricing of an ID firm and sign up for the kitchen on sunday. !!

They gave granite top at 90 $ pfr. Now got people tell me that only India granite then worth so much,

China granite is bet 40 to 70 $.

I know they give me China granite ..coz they dont let me choose the black galaxy n pearl ,,,all in top row.

Only below rows can choose he said.

How to find out what is the actual cost and type/quality of granite he sold us? !!

For what I know, india granite are those very dark in colour.

our black galaxy granite top cost us abt $85 or $90 pfr leh...

btw there's no such thing as promotion one lah... go to their shops, they oso will tell u: today special only. but everyday oso say same thing. MUST see workmanship of houses they r workin on before committing.

our black galaxy granite top cost us abt $85 or $90 pfr leh...

btw there's no such thing as promotion one lah... go to their shops, they oso will tell u: today special only. but everyday oso say same thing. MUST see workmanship of houses they r workin on before committing.

Do u think if I tell him that I chkd out prices and I know the range...and ask him to give him the Indian granite at the same price he will agree?? !!

So many people signed over the 3 day period that I visited expo,..I waited til the last day to sign ...do you think all of them never realise ???? Some even bot 2 pakgs one for themselves one for their parents or in-laws.

Can so many people be taken for a ride???

Cornetto their workmanship is good. My fren has lived for a couple of yrs n no probs. Somemo 8 yr warranty on workmanship...

But I dont like being charged 90$ pfr for something worth half of that...and we are talking of abt 20 ft here 8|

Do u think if I tell him that I chkd out prices and I know the range...and ask him to give him the Indian granite at the same price he will agree?? :D

that's where they 'earn back' the money mah... give you cheap price but give you cheap stuff also. i don't think they will give you the india granite lah. if you take a closer look at the contract u signed it is probably skewed in their favour anyway so you can't use their contract against them.

think the only way you can get your india granite is to threaten to complain, but i don't think that is a good idea cos it will make future communication difficult...

actually frankly speaking if you have only paid a $500 deposit it MAY still be worth it if u choose to drop them and spend the next month looking for the more reliable ID firms (who don't advertise) who quote you 'as is' - without hidden cost, and everything stated clearly in black and white (e.g. XXX brand laminate at up to $yyy psf). those firms usually will usually give you less problem during reno also.

yes they may be more ex, but it is because they usually have a 1-2K buffer included in the quotation so that they can give you some 'freebies' (and make you feel happy) and correct carpentry/flooring errors without complaining.

your own choice lah...