cha_alex 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Yup dust is one problem, but I guess I have to do quite a bit of dusting regardless of dust or not as I own a rabbit, and she roams freely everywhere! Will need a good and reliable vacuum cleaner to do the cleaning....BTW, thks for your comment! Also, I supposed you have aircon as well? Any problems/issues so far?Yup got aircon running 9pm - 7am daily for MBR, other rooms seldom on.... servicing every 4 mths for MBR unit, others 6-12mths. Washing the filter weekly.... so far no problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 7 yrs i nvr serviced the aircon even once.. dunno if this is good or not la.Wah, 7 yrs never service?!Good to service and check your compressor at least once or twice a year for better efficiency. Filters also need to be cleaned regularly else you will be just breathing in dirty air which gets circulated and re-circulated. Even the car mechanic will check our car air-con every 6-mths when we send for maintenance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 (edited) Ah, whether it is a 'need' or a 'must' varies from person to person. Just like SCV or no SCV, car or no car, washing machine or handwash, etc, there are pros and cons. But why do you think it is a 'necessity'? Because weather hot? Or aircon is more affordable nowadays? Anyway, I am asking the question here because I wanted to hear the opinion of people staying at higher floors in HDB, whether they had opted for aircon or fans, and the advantages/disadvantages. It's the long term (>5 years) issues that I am keen to find out more about. Also, trying to save $$$ and environment lah! Because times have changed. Last time army bunks don't have aircon, for instance. Now even army bunks have aircon.Last time people worked outdoors more. Now people work indoors more, everywhere got aircon.And it is a fact that temperatures now are warmer than 30 years ago. So how?You may not feel it's a need. And that may be correct for you. But if you didn't have doubts, why post the question? Just go with your own convictionMy point is not about you per se, because I don't know anything about you, I don't know how you would feel about anything, not just aircon. My point is how I think the majority of the general population feels. While I have not done a quantitative survey, I feel pretty sure that the majority of the population would agree aircon is a need. Because the expectations of the majority are different from 30 years ago. Edited September 12, 2007 by waileong Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSH21 1 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Because times have changed. Last time army bunks don't have aircon, for instance. Now even army bunks have aircon.Oh is it ?? which camp ?? I am worry that how my son can cope with NS.... Because every night he sleeps with A/C on... if bunk can have a/c is a good news... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Because times have changed. Last time army bunks don't have aircon, for instance. Now even army bunks have aircon.Got meh? Oh is it ?? which camp ?? I am worry that how my son can cope with NS.... Because every night he sleeps with A/C on... if bunk can have a/c is a good news...What kind of soldiers are we training? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSH21 1 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 What kind of soldiers are we training? Thinking soldier... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Not only do they have aircon, they have caterers to cook food (instead of Army cooks) and contractors to do area cleaning (instead of them doing it themselves).Which camp? Try OCS for a start. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 we reused previous owners' system 2 aircon... but seldom on them... prefer natural wind & fan. to me, aircon is a luxury but not a necessity. to me, its the PUB bills that matters....wakakakka...but in really hot days....bobian must turn on. besides luxury, needs, neccesity...there is one more - have heard that doctors said long term sleeping in aircon no good...sorry cant provide any concrete evidence to this. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 Because times have changed. Last time army bunks don't have aircon, for instance. Now even army bunks have aircon....Last time people worked outdoors more. Now people work indoors more, everywhere got aircon....And it is a fact that temperatures now are warmer than 30 years ago. So how?Things has changed over the years. One thing hasn't: my salary! Regarding global warming, I suggest you go ask Mr Google....FYI, climate change is caused by mostly anthropogenic activities, and aircon is one of them ...Solution to hot weather: You may not feel it's a need. And that may be correct for you. But if you didn't have doubts, why post the question? Just go with your own conviction Aiya you, just wanna learn & find out more (that's one of the reasons why the forum exists). Am still considering whether to install, then use only when weather is hot (i.e. no wind, warm night, 7th month, Indonesia burning their forests...), or just live with it for the next x years...and with more KDK/MISTRAL fans of course So, I assume you have aircon lah? TYM, I also agree on the regular servicing part. One of the buildings at my work place's central aircon is so 'wet' that many things start to turn mouldy....there's even a smell ! Depending on usage, I think servicing (cleaning of pipes, etc) once every 3-6 months is a wise practice. Wah, 7 years no servicing ! sounds scary man! Think it's better to service once in a while even if rarely used.Just miss those nice cool morning air/breeze... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 Not only do they have aircon, they have caterers to cook food (instead of Army cooks) and contractors to do area cleaning (instead of them doing it themselves).Which camp? Try OCS for a start.I was from OCS, in fact just had our tenth anniversary gathering recently at OCS. No lah, OCS cadet bunks no aircon lah. The bunks are twin-sharing bunks and are fitted with ceiling fan (consider very luxury liao). Even officers on course in OCS are staying in the same type of bunks, but in different blocks away from the cadets' blocks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 The only place that is aircon are the Officer & Snr NCOs Mess & the training room & medical centreEven Battalion Commander office is fan type.All bunk 100% fan type. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
swatdila 1 Report post Posted September 14, 2007 filters i clean regularly, but in terms of servicing, so far i hv not done it... Wah, 7 yrs never service?!Good to service and check your compressor at least once or twice a year for better efficiency. Filters also need to be cleaned regularly else you will be just breathing in dirty air which gets circulated and re-circulated. Even the car mechanic will check our car air-con every 6-mths when we send for maintenance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted September 14, 2007 filters i clean regularly, but in terms of servicing, so far i hv not done it...May be a good idea to service it.....soon. There may be odourless 'things' that you breathe in without you knowing... Actually, what exactly is done during servicing? Cleaning of the pipes, etc? I remember the aircon at my parents' home, the aircon's air output is very poor, and it was bad because both the 'inlet' and 'outlet' pipes are kinda 'choked'....got 'slime' I think. And how much does servicing cost? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
leen 2 Report post Posted September 15, 2007 the following are a lists of air-con retailers that you can try calling them and faxing them your floor plan for sizing caln and quotation. you can also ask them for advice on what is the best combination.1) national climate change committeethis is website for your infor on air-conhttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/checklist.shtm2) toshibahttp://www.toshiba.com.sg/HA/Content/Categ...dc503f2ef4048023) LGa) http://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/lge.shtmb) http://sg.lge.com/support/dealerList_north.jsp#aircon3) mitsubishi heavy industrieshttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/mitsubi...industries.shtm4) sharphttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/sharp.shtm5) fujitsuhttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/fujitsu.shtm6) generalhttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/general.shtm7) mcquayhttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/mcquay.shtm8) panasonica) http://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/panasonic.shtmb) http://panasonic.com.sg/web/Contents/MainCont.asp?ContId=1129) hitachihttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/hitachi.shtm10) daikinhttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/daikin.shtm11) mitsubishi electrichttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/mitsubishielectric.shtm12) samsunghttp://www.nccc.gov.sg/energylabel/samsung.shtmair-con retailers cum installers1) coolservehttp://www.coolserve.com.sg/htmdocs/coolAd...visor.asp?id=102) best techhttp://www.besttechaircon.com/3) Etronin Air-Conditioners & ElectricBlk 633 Veerasamy Road #01-128 Singapore 200633 Tel: 629489314) hong tarhttp://www.hongtar.com.sg/air-con certified installers:www.bca.gov.sg/academy/Trained_Installers.aspxhope the above infor helps.these are the quotes i was given for toshiba. toshiba system 3 inverter (got this combination as i need to cool a big hall and MBR) and i am installing 2 sets of system 3 (if i do decide on system 3) outdoor unit: RAS-3M23YACV - 24,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit indoor unit: a) RAS-M10NKCV - 9,000BTU/Hr x 2 unit + b) RAS-M13NKCV - 12,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit prices do not include bracket coz i hv concrete aircon ledge: a) h@ng ta - S$2,780 b) Best tech - S$2,653.60 c) mega - S$2,550.00 d) hong huat - S$3,103 e) federal - S$2,398.00 toshiba system 4 inverter (if i get this combination, i would need to get 1 more single split system coz not enough for my hm) outdoor unit: RAS-4M30YACV - 30,000 - 34,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit indoor unit: a) RAS-M10NKCV - 9,000BTU/Hr x 3 unit + b) RAS-M13NKCV - 12,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit prices do not include bracket coz i hv concrete aircon ledge: a) h@ng ta - S$3,730 b) Best tech - S$3,456.10 c) mega - S$3,400 d) hong huat - S$3,531 e) federal - S$3,400 if bracket is required, the prices are: a) h@ng ta - S$120 b) Best tech - S$150 c) mega - S$120 d) hong huat - S$100 e) federal - never state all piping and insulation base on manufacturer's spec. basically its either, armaflex, k-flex, thermaflex, totaline insulation etc. cu piping as per manufacturer's specs. piping and cabling all in pvc trunking. these are the quotes i was given for mitsubishi. mitsubishi system 3 inverter (got this combination as i need to cool a big hall and MBR) and i am installing 2 sets of system 3 (if i do decide on system 3) outdoor unit: MXY-3A28VA - 30,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit indoor unit: a) MSXY-GA10 - 9,000BTU/Hr x 2 unit + b) MSXY-GA13VA - 12,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit prices do not include bracket coz i hv concrete aircon ledge: a) h@ng ta - (mitsubishi electric)S$2,900 / (mitsubishi heavy) S$2,680 b) Best tech - S$2,653.60 c) hong huat - S$2,950 d) all best - S$2,731 e) best denki - S$3,299.00 f) double-h aircond - 3,150.00 g) golden harvest h) systematic airconditioning - S$3,100 mitsubishi system 4 inverter (if i get this combination, i would need to get 1 more single split system coz not enough for my hm) outdoor unit: MXY-4A28VA - 30,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit indoor unit: a) MSXY-GA10 - 9,000BTU/Hr x 3 unit + b) MSXY-GA13VA - 12,000BTU/Hr x 1 unit prices do not include bracket coz i hv concrete aircon ledge: a) h@ng ta - S$3,730 b) hong huat - S$3,650 if bracket is required, the prices are: a) h@ng ta - S$120 b) hong huat - S$100 c) all best - S$150 d) best denki - S$110 e) systematic airconditioning - S$100 all piping and insulation base on manufacturer's spec. basically its either, armaflex, k-flex, thermaflex, totaline insulation etc. cu piping as per manufacturer's specs. piping and cabling all in pvc trunking. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CraB 0 Report post Posted September 15, 2007 the following are a lists of air-con retailers ...What a great list! This will come in handy during planning of my needs/wants list...Thanks dude Share this post Link to post Share on other sites