babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 What is wrought aluminium gate?I know wrought iron gate - galvanised to prevent rust. But got wrought aluminium?It supposedly costs $1K for a 3x7 ft gate. x2++ of a wrought iron gate.Anyone knows?Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 Check "wrought" at dictionary.com. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bullet 0 Report post Posted September 9, 2007 What is wrought aluminium gate?I know wrought iron gate - galvanised to prevent rust. But got wrought aluminium?It supposedly costs $1K for a 3x7 ft gate. x2++ of a wrought iron gate.Anyone knows?Thanks!This is a rather new product in the market. Wrought aluminium gate is still aluminium gate but the aluminium material used is thicker than normal and were sent for process to "bud" on it like wrought iron. Other than the design, it is still a normal aluminium gate that's all. $1K is too exp already. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 10, 2007 hmm... thats something new to me..but for 1k i rather go for stainless steel. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bullet 0 Report post Posted September 10, 2007 Just manage to find the cost of Wrought Iron Gate from a window contractor...heheheCost of a gate is about $700.00 per set... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 Just manage to find the cost of Wrought Iron Gate from a window contractor...heheheCost of a gate is about $700.00 per set...thanks bullet! think i will forget about spending so much on the front gate! hmm... thats something new to me..but for 1k i rather go for stainless steel.hahaha.. u like stainless steel a lot hor? then can spray 3M stainless steel polish and scrub until shiny shiny! not getting, joining the save $ club since already kena chop carrot!Check "wrought" at dictionary.com.hahaa... me m-w.com fanhere you go:Main Entry: wrought iron Function: noun Date: 1678 : a commercial form of iron that is tough, malleable, and relatively soft, contains less than 0.3 percent and usually less than 0.1 percent carbon, and carries 1 or 2 percent of slag mechanically mixed with it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted September 12, 2007 (edited) Main Entry: wrought iron Function: noun Date: 1678 : a commercial form of iron that is tough, malleable, and relatively soft, contains less than 0.3 percent and usually less than 0.1 percent carbon, and carries 1 or 2 percent of slag mechanically mixed with itAnd that's the point isn't it. Wrought basically means bent, hence the malleability. Wrought doesn't have anything to do with galvanising. Hence it's not restricted to iron. Edited September 13, 2007 by waileong Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 And that's the point isn't it. Wrought basically means bent, hence the malleability. Wrought doesn't have anything to do with galvanising. Hence it's not restricted to iron.me reno noobie won't know the diff lor! thanks anyway! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 "Wrought" is just a word in English. Doesn't have anything to do with renovation. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Warrior88 0 Report post Posted September 13, 2007 me reno noobie won't know the diff lor! thanks anyway! Its okay honey, ask anything you want. We learn each and every day. Oh, do you play golf ? ( Go On Learning Forever )Also, you go the blk842 that I want leh. How much you pay for the COV ?Can check you neighbour got lobang for low COV ?PM me if got kang tow ok ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
legan 0 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 Sorry to hijack thread but if anyone selling their original gate, please pm me. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites