babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2007 hi all,hope i can get some advice on this...Painting works for my 5I flat 128 sq m is quoted by my contractor.i have already topped up for 3-in-1 Medifresh and sealer. Main contractor subcon this job to this Uncle who is doing partition board + cornice (we hate it, but no choice coz got water pipes all over!) + painting.Right from Day 1, i have specified I only want 3-in-1 Medifresh (paint code 3000 series) with 5170 Oil Sealer as we had been cheated on painting before when we first moved in.Today, I spend 2+hours confirming paint codes and stuff with the Uncle.3 hours later, my contractor calls me and says it is better to choose the 6000 series paint "not because of costs but for easier maintenance"B*LL.I call Nippon, I get my answer right away - the cost IS different. And i have been reading all the painting websites and i know Nippon Medifresh 3-in-1 is LOW SHEEN. But both contractors insist it is high gloss and i will have problems when doing touch up, bla bla next time.Come on, once painted, how often you go touch the paint again! I am really upset with them! If they cannot deliver what is promised, I should just give the painting job to another contractor right?What would you do in my position? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2007 i have decided to the painting contractor. he will just do partition and box-up, finish, bye bye!i will rather pay more and go to Selfix or Homefix and enage the painting professionals to do my job. don't want to have to see my walls everytime and remember his "threats" that Medifresh 3-in-1 bla bla bla. like that Nippon Medifresh paint in big trouble liao!still about it but i am glad i can nip the problem before i let him climb over us. COST issue say cost issue.now i am superbly pissed with my main contractor for not delivering, must be he squeeze the painting contractor too much so even though we top up for what we request, painting contractor still don't make enough?? going to make him compensate in other ways. can anyone please advise me costs for this layout:this contractor say i got 4 bedrooms so my 5I is considered 6 room flat? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 5, 2007 IMHO, he should be quoting based on floor area instead of number of roomsand the painting issue :~i've been using medifresh in my current home and used it for my new home toowhere got issue? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 5, 2007 IMHO, he should be quoting based on floor area instead of number of roomsand the painting issue !! i've been using medifresh in my current home and used it for my new home toowhere got issue?obviously it is a cost issue. i also believe my main contractor squeeze the paint contractor eventhough i already top up for what i request for. !! now i get Selfix Nippon package $1500 + $500 for sealer but at least i know i will get exactly what i pay for and no mixing paints/add water/don't give sealer.enough of dishonest contractors! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 most painters dun like medifresh because it's not easy to paintone wall, preferably the whole room, must be painted at one gocoz when the paint dries, it'll be a different colour liaoso if you paint one wall today and the wall next to it tomorrow,the walls will be in a different shade even if the same can of paint is used !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applek24 0 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 most painters dun like medifresh because it's not easy to paintone wall, preferably the whole room, must be painted at one gocoz when the paint dries, it'll be a different colour liaoso if you paint one wall today and the wall next to it tomorrow,the walls will be in a different shade even if the same can of paint is used !!I never ask my contractor what kind of paint will he be using for my new hse ? Can I go ask him now ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 me prefer medifresh coz of the anti-bacteria qualityif not think easywash is good enough usually if paint not stated means they using vinilex Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 most painters dun like medifresh because it's not easy to paintone wall, preferably the whole room, must be painted at one gocoz when the paint dries, it'll be a different colour liaoso if you paint one wall today and the wall next to it tomorrow,the walls will be in a different shade even if the same can of paint is used now i understand! thanks for telling me this applefreak. difficult to paint means more work for them!*light bulb on*can i check with you are your walls very "glossy" when the lights are turned on? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 no leh dun find it glossy lehfor pix can check out my t-blog or bloglinks at my signature*shamelessly promoting my blog* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 I never ask my contractor what kind of paint will he be using for my new hse ? Can I go ask him now ?heehee... this reno forum teach you a lot of things that your contractor wish you won't know about!! different paints cost different prices. take a look at this price list. home owner will be asked to top-up for the more expensive paints. in my case, i have topped up but the painting subcon tries to be funny. but in a way, now i am thankful to him for being so ! since we know he is all out to cheat, realizing this early is good for us! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babyQ 0 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 no leh dun find it glossy lehfor pix can check out my t-blog or bloglinks at my signature*shamelessly promoting my blog* thanks thanks! i saw your room and sister's room wall colours - exactly the two colours i had in mind! looks good to me. will stay put with Medifresh! thanks applefreak! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 7, 2007 you're welcome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites