bythesea 0 Report post Posted September 4, 2007 I am thinking of replacing my current gas water heater.I understand that only CityGas is the only party authorized to change such heaters. Am I wrong in this aspect?I understand that while it is possible to change into an electric water heater, the costs involved in doing piping and wiring is far too much to be cost-logical. With 5 adults in a 5 room flat, what capacity should I be looking at?Are there any brands more reliable than the rest?Greatly appreciate anyone sharing in this thread Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 4, 2007 there is only one gas heater model in singapore that is allowed for use in hdb flatshowever, you can consider replacing the gas heater with a storage heater so you only need to ensure that there's a plug there for the storage heater Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 4, 2007 (edited) me alone already a heavy user of hotwater....30L ariston. so far nothing wrong with my pub bills.alamak sorry mine is a electricity one Edited September 4, 2007 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bythesea 0 Report post Posted September 4, 2007 there is only one gas heater model in singapore that is allowed for use in hdb flatshowever, you can consider replacing the gas heater with a storage heater so you only need to ensure that there's a plug there for the storage heater only 1 model? when i went to CityGas's website, there were many brands that were listedis it the 30L ariston that MaCe mentioned? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 4, 2007 gas heater approved for hdb flats only onethe rest can only be used in private propertydun ask me why coz i also dun know - hdb's tupid ruling again Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bythesea 0 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 can anyone confirm that only CityGas is authorised to replace the gas wahter heater in my house?does that mean that i have to go down to their showroom to get the replacement?does anyone which is the only model that can be used in hdb flats?TIA Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 6, 2007 you can only get gas heater from citygas showroom if i'm not wrongalso, only the 5l instant one is allowed Share this post Link to post Share on other sites