twoti

Curtains As Partition?

My 2 rooms are combined as one. My ID suggest that i use curtains to partition the room when i on the aircon so that i can save electricity. Anyone done that before? Any other suggestions?

dont think a curtain can block the coldair.....

i think can leh... just like my curtains can block the sunlight & the heat oso... or am i being insensible & illogical?

think must use thick blackout curtains (and not those translucent see-thru type) maybe 95% cool air can be contained within the partition? come to think of it, doors also do not cover all the way to the floor. some cool air also leak.

i think can leh... just like my curtains can block the sunlight & the heat oso... or am i being insensible & illogical?

Lights get reflected. However air flow in/out . Cold air down hot air rise. My science teacher in primary school taugh me this. :)

The curtain can be used provided as above, very thick curtain, must cover the whole partitiion with minimun cold air leakage else electrical bill high high instead saving money.

Edited by TPY

Lights get reflected. However air flow in/out . Cold air down hot air rise. My science teacher in primary school taugh me this. :)

The curtain can be used provided as above, very thick curtain, must cover the whole partitiion with minimun cold air leakage else electrical bill high high instead saving money.

as most of the members said - it got to be very thick and heavy. but then WHO would want that in his house?

reminds me of old time cinemas with those thick thick heavy heavy + smelly curtains at the entrance.

as most of the members said - it got to be very thick and heavy. but then WHO would want that in his house?

reminds me of old time cinemas with those thick thick heavy heavy + smelly curtains at the entrance.

Also when washing, use more water leh very heavy loh. not economy, big bill in electrical and water instead of saving. Maybe the ID idea is :)

curtain used for internal partition is not bad idea, quite cost effective. at least can wash lor? used in between bedrooms - no smell. Can change design as and when you like?

smelly cinema curtains cos they dun wash for 10years? at home is different mah. one ID I spoke to suggest to use thick curtain for kitchen! Cooking smell stick to fabric. maybe have to wash every week!

philip starck designed hotel in HK. not bad right...

btimagesgehotels7xkob1.jpg

Edited by jt88

Reminds me of those Tui Na setup. :bleah:

If u hv maid, then u can afford to wash it often la...imagine if u need to work and do the household

chores yrself...and u still need to wash the smelly curtains often. Imagine how tedious it would be!

If u hv maid, then u can afford to wash it often la...imagine if u need to work and do the household

chores yrself...and u still need to wash the smelly curtains often. Imagine how tedious it would be!

reminds me of what MR GMC used to said.... you cant design your hotel like a hotel - cos hotels got their own maintenance dept and cleaning dept skilled in cleaning/maintenance, for hosueowners at most you got is a maid.

typo error - you cant design your HOUSE like a hotel.