hongss

Switches On The Wall

Hi guys,

i was wondering how r your switches mounted on the wall? Im planning to change all my switches to those rocker switches. My idea is to flush the switch with the wall which means that i should not have any plastic backing rite? How do i go abt doing it? Hope you guys understand what i trying to say? Pls post pics of your switches on the walls if u have any!

it'll depend on whether your current switches are flushed or protruding

like mine is those flushed type so easier to change coz the wires are hidden in the wall

IMG_1718.jpg

if it's those protruding one, not so sure if you can DIY to those flused ones :sport-smiley-004:

it'll depend on whether your current switches are flushed or protruding

like mine is those flushed type so easier to change coz the wires are hidden in the wall

IMG_1718.jpg

if it's those protruding one, not so sure if you can DIY to those flused ones :sport-smiley-004:

Yeah, thats what i wanted. My existing switches are not hidden in the wall. You can actually see the PVC trunking on the wall. i believe i will need my contractor help to hide all the cables. Do u know how much will this kind of work cost?

The only way not to have the PVC trunking is to hack a line along the wall, put the wires along that line, and plaster back smoothly. Definitely need a contractor to do it, and its not cheap at all.

But beside the prices, the more important thing to note is that if your place is a HDB flat, its illegal to hack several parts of the wall. Do take out your floorplan and see where you can hack and where cannot.

The only way not to have the PVC trunking is to hack a line along the wall, put the wires along that line, and plaster back smoothly. Definitely need a contractor to do it, and its not cheap at all.

But beside the prices, the more important thing to note is that if your place is a HDB flat, its illegal to hack several parts of the wall. Do take out your floorplan and see where you can hack and where cannot.

from the floor plan, how do i know which wall can't be hack? Will it look funny if im using rocker switch but not flush with the wall? Anyone got pic on this?

Yeah, thats what i wanted. My existing switches are not hidden in the wall. You can actually see the PVC trunking on the wall. i believe i will need my contractor help to hide all the cables. Do u know how much will this kind of work cost?

Please read the reno guide.... it is illegal to do wall/floor concealed wiring or switches. Unless it is original from HDB (usually for those new flats, all electrical and plumbing are already concealled......

my new place is completed in 2000, so got concealed wiring

the newer flats got concealed piping leh :dunno:

for poor man like me - NOTHING CONCEALed. cos I dont have the money to hack + patch + repaint!

1) if there is any wiring problem - the only way to troubleshoot is to hack open the wall and find out which wire is burnt.

2) if you need to add additional light points/ sockets at a later time - same as above -HACKING!:drunk:

3) if you need to change the position of the sockets(somehow it's obstructing your new furnitures) = same HACK!

4) lightning strikes - telephone wire burnt, my modem deepfried - i kena this before in old 3room flat. Took the telecoms guy less than 10mins to rectify the problem. If concealed - go imagine.

Edited by MaCe