hongss 3 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 Hi guys,i was wondering how r your switches mounted on the wall? Im planning to change all my switches to those rocker switches. My idea is to flush the switch with the wall which means that i should not have any plastic backing rite? How do i go abt doing it? Hope you guys understand what i trying to say? Pls post pics of your switches on the walls if u have any!Thanks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 it'll depend on whether your current switches are flushed or protrudinglike mine is those flushed type so easier to change coz the wires are hidden in the wallif it's those protruding one, not so sure if you can DIY to those flused ones Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hongss 3 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 it'll depend on whether your current switches are flushed or protrudinglike mine is those flushed type so easier to change coz the wires are hidden in the wallif it's those protruding one, not so sure if you can DIY to those flused ones Yeah, thats what i wanted. My existing switches are not hidden in the wall. You can actually see the PVC trunking on the wall. i believe i will need my contractor help to hide all the cables. Do u know how much will this kind of work cost? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 The only way not to have the PVC trunking is to hack a line along the wall, put the wires along that line, and plaster back smoothly. Definitely need a contractor to do it, and its not cheap at all.But beside the prices, the more important thing to note is that if your place is a HDB flat, its illegal to hack several parts of the wall. Do take out your floorplan and see where you can hack and where cannot. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 not sure if it's allowed coz think read somewhere that old flats cannot have concealed wires so box will be the thick one where is bro MaCe? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hongss 3 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 The only way not to have the PVC trunking is to hack a line along the wall, put the wires along that line, and plaster back smoothly. Definitely need a contractor to do it, and its not cheap at all.But beside the prices, the more important thing to note is that if your place is a HDB flat, its illegal to hack several parts of the wall. Do take out your floorplan and see where you can hack and where cannot.from the floor plan, how do i know which wall can't be hack? Will it look funny if im using rocker switch but not flush with the wall? Anyone got pic on this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 think those walls in thick black line cannot hack Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 26, 2007 found this pix on jamez t-blog and kapo-ed Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cha_alex 0 Report post Posted August 27, 2007 Yeah, thats what i wanted. My existing switches are not hidden in the wall. You can actually see the PVC trunking on the wall. i believe i will need my contractor help to hide all the cables. Do u know how much will this kind of work cost?Please read the reno guide.... it is illegal to do wall/floor concealed wiring or switches. Unless it is original from HDB (usually for those new flats, all electrical and plumbing are already concealled...... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hongss 3 Report post Posted August 27, 2007 Hi applefreak, so your flat very new? As mentioned, only new house have their cables hidden. Mine is a 10 yr old flat Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted August 27, 2007 my new place is completed in 2000, so got concealed wiringthe newer flats got concealed piping leh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted August 27, 2007 (edited) my new place is completed in 2000, so got concealed wiringthe newer flats got concealed piping leh for poor man like me - NOTHING CONCEALed. cos I dont have the money to hack + patch + repaint!1) if there is any wiring problem - the only way to troubleshoot is to hack open the wall and find out which wire is burnt.2) if you need to add additional light points/ sockets at a later time - same as above -HACKING!3) if you need to change the position of the sockets(somehow it's obstructing your new furnitures) = same HACK!4) lightning strikes - telephone wire burnt, my modem deepfried - i kena this before in old 3room flat. Took the telecoms guy less than 10mins to rectify the problem. If concealed - go imagine. Edited August 27, 2007 by MaCe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites