ilys

Id: No Provision Of Haulage Services & Hdb Permit

hi, just like to check..

normally, would the id apply for hdb permit and foot the charges this permit and for haulage as well?

cos when i was quoted , was told need to bear it ourselves

anyone?

Its true that some ID takes it out from their quotation, like mine.

However, he will do the paperwork for me (eg legwork to HDB and contacting the contractor for haulage) and show me the respective receipts so that I can pay for them accordingly.

hi, just like to check..

normally, would the id apply for hdb permit and foot the charges this permit and for haulage as well?

cos when i was quoted , was told need to bear it ourselves

anyone?

this is a classic case of dishonest ID/contractor who has lots of HIDDEN costs.

actually okay lah, at least they were told when quoted

coz sometimes for new flats haulage and disposal must be done by TC so the ID is just a middle-man

some dun even tell you there's such a thing and when the time comes, you have no choice but pay

informed = go in with eyes open mah :)

this is a classic case of dishonest ID/contractor who has lots of HIDDEN costs.

Actually to be fair haulage and permit charges are not hidden costs; every reno will have these charges mah.

I would rather the ID give me the exact costs of such items and ask me to pay directly, instead of marking up the other items and tell me that he give me 'free' haulage and permit charges. There is no such thing as 'free' in this world one lor...

But of course the ID needs to be clear upfront and tell us what is not included in the quotation (ie what else need to pay for) before we signed. Eg for mine he did so, thus I am quite ok with him...

Actually to be fair haulage and permit charges are not hidden costs; every reno will have these charges mah.

I would rather the ID give me the exact costs of such items and ask me to pay directly, instead of marking up the other items and tell me that he give me 'free' haulage and permit charges. There is no such thing as 'free' in this world one lor...

But of course the ID needs to be clear upfront and tell us what is not included in the quotation (ie what else need to pay for) before we signed. Eg for mine he did so, thus I am quite ok with him...

ya..

moreover hdb doesnt charge a single cent for reno permits, they or towncouncil only charge around $80-$100 for the haulage to have a skid at the carpark. some contractors dont use the skid.

our ID also told us that we need to bear the haulage costs ourselves. and we were also informed abt it by 2 other IDs when sourcing out for quotes.. so I think it's sorta SOP

Edited by oonik grl

ya..

moreover hdb doesnt charge a single cent for reno permits, they or towncouncil only charge around $80-$100 for the haulage to have a skid at the carpark. some contractors dont use the skid.

HDB does charge for reno permit leh - I enquired myself at the branch office, mine is $283.50 for 5-rm! !! That's how much our good govt earns for doing some paperwork lor...

BTW, haulage is not just about the skid for debris - its also the sand. With the sand ban from Indon, the contractors are taking the opportunity to increase the cost. Last time it was $650 to $850 for 5-rm, but now my ID checked and said its $1200! I asked my ID to give me the original receipt from the contractor so as to be sure he didn't mark up; he said no problem.

are you sure you gotta pay for hdb permit?

so far those i've enquired says that hdb dun charge permit fees leh

contractors and ID firms have a portal for them to register the renovation permit foc.

companies that charge permit fees is to 'borrow' permit from someone else that's why got to pay...

are you sure you gotta pay for hdb permit?

so far those i've enquired says that hdb dun charge permit fees leh

contractors and ID firms have a portal for them to register the renovation permit foc.

companies that charge permit fees is to 'borrow' permit from someone else that's why got to pay...

Yup, I just checked on that myself from HDB branch office...

Hi hi

can i confirm? HDB Permit should be Free

But haulage fee = must pay the Town Council? or pay the contractor? I was given "$500 Haulage to doorstep" by the contractor. anyone can enlighten me what it means?

Info on renovation is available on HDB website here:

HDB InfoWEB: Renovation

Scroll down and click on "Applying for a Renovation Permit":

...Depending on the nature of the works and whether the contractors are registered with HDB, the administrative fee ranges from $100 to $600...

Haulage fee is paid to the contractor (but sometimes your ID pays on your behalf or absorb into your quotation). The contractor will then pay HDB/town council for using the carpark or land to put the skid.

Not sure about "$500 haulage to doorstep", but from layman's terms I believe it means that the contractor will bring the sand up to your door. Maybe there are incidents where the contractor will just deliver to your void deck and somebody has to come down to wheelbarrow the stuff up, so that's why got such terms as 'to doorstep' lor...

Edited by zirhk3355

One of my potential ID quoted me as follows:

PE endorsement = $500

Haulage = $750

Looks ok?

One of my potential ID quoted me as follows:

PE endorsement = $500

Haulage = $750

Looks ok?

Not sure about the PE fee, but as sakae-sushi confirmed that our haulage is $950 for 4-rm and $1200 for 5-rm.

The ID quote you $750 for haulage...hmmz, so the rest of the amount how? The ID doing charity? Sorry to be straightforward but I would stay away from such ID lor...

Not sure about the PE fee, but as sakae-sushi confirmed that our haulage is $950 for 4-rm and $1200 for 5-rm.

The ID quote you $750 for haulage...hmmz, so the rest of the amount how? The ID doing charity? Sorry to be straightforward but I would stay away from such ID lor...

But he did say that 4-rm used to be abt $650 but now increased due to the sand ban thing.

So it is also likely that my potential ID did not jack up their price by much. :)

With the signing of the extradiction and defence pact btw Sin and Indon recently, lets hope that this sand and granite ban thing may blow over soon.