Find Professionals    Deals    Get Quotations   Portfolios
Sign in to follow this  
scarletpica

Contractors Vs Interior Designers

Sorry, a noob here. Don't know if this is the right forum section to ask, but here goes..

What is the difference between a contractor & a interior designer?

Is their job scope different?

Am i right to say that a contractor is useful if the owner already has an idea or layout of what to do with the flat? Whilst the ID is useful if the owner does not have any idea, thus needing the ideas of the ID?

In this case, owner have to pay for consultation/ "idea" services of the ID? If go direct to a contractor, can save such costs?

:yamseng:

Join 46,923 satisfied homeowners who used renotalk quotation service to find interior designers. Get an estimated quotation

yes you have basicaly summed it up

contractors basically just carry out what you want e.g. 10ft of bottom kitchen cabinet, install lights etc although most experienced contractors are able to give some ideas. dun expect drawings though

ID on the other hand provides consultation on everything from what kind of lights for where, what kind of furniture fits your theme and how best to maximise limited space.

personal view, for those who are getting a new place and plan to get everything new, ID would be a good choice esp if you have a specific theme e.g. resort or modern as a good ID will be able to advice accordingly. however, if like me you are shifting from a old place to a new one and will not be getting much furnitures, then a contractor should be good enough coz most prob the old furnitures are of different style anyway :yamseng:

hi scarletpica,